top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLuis Santiago-Rosario

Visibility matters

Updated: Jul 22, 2019

First of all, welcome to The Salty Scientist! Here I plan on expressing my opinions on diverse topics in science and education, with an approach from the standpoint of diversity and inclusion. I also plan on giving my opinions on cool new science and promote the scientific exploration of new ideas. Follow me and lets talk science!


A while back, I found myself scrolling down on my Twitter account (@yadixsant), when I found an interesting initiative from @lgbtstem that focused on exposing stories from scientist and people that work in STEM that are members of the LGBT community. I decided to participate and share my experience as a biologist and a scientist (see here). After my interview was publish I got a lot of great feedback. And it made me wonder where we are at as a society and in the field of science when it comes to inclusion and visibility.


This image shows tropical mountains in the central region of Puerto Rico. The Mountains are bright green and the sky is a perfect blue with white clouds.
My home town of Ciales, Puerto Rico. Look at the beautiful nature that inspired me to become a scientist.

I grew up in a small town in Puerto Rico with very rigorous and beautiful traditions and customs. However, a person like me was non-existent. I have paved my own way, as an individual, as a Latino, and as a scientist. I had a lot of great feedback from professors and mentors, but some role models came way after I made many career decisions. I do not regret my path, but one thing is for certain, VISIBILITY MATTERS. With that being said, the field of STEM has a long way to go in inclusion and visibility, not just for the LGBT community but also for diversity.


If you are a mentor, take into account your students feelings and emotions, where they come from and their cultural background. Learn and grow together. Visibility and inclusion is more that just acknowledging it, is also about becoming part of it, and growing together as a congruent society. Again, be visible. Inspire others. Visibility saves lives and that's the little but powerful grain of sand that we can add in this apathetic world we live in.

71 views0 comments
bottom of page